The San Antonio Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for the 2019 Tribute to Women Business Leaders Awards.

The annual awards are intended to honor individuals who embody leadership qualities that “have driven not only their personal success, but also the success of those around them,” according to the call for nominations. Ford Motor Co. is the presenting sponsor.

In 2018, the awards were given to Paula Gold-Williams, CEO, CPS Energy; Edith McAllister, the late civic and community leader; Jennifer Moriarty, principal,  Moriarty Consulting Group; Retired Marine Corps Gen. Angie Salinas, CEO, Girl Scouts of Southwest Texas; and Ronit Sherwin, CEO, Jewish Federation of San Antonio.

The awards are given in five categories:

Executive award for large business – A business owner, CEO, managing partner, or top executive in a large company who has a proven success record as an outstanding business leader; is a leading force in her industry, and has had a significant impact on the community.

Brenda Vickrey Johnson award for small business – A small-business owner or CEO who has a proven success record as an outstanding business leader and has had a significant impact on the community. The award is named for the president and CEO of a local engineering firm, Vickrey & Associates. Johnson received a women’s leadership award in 2009.

Promise award – An exceptional leader who has made a significant impact on business and the community in a short span of time, due to age or length of time in San Antonio.

Hope award – A woman who has had a notable impact on the community through outstanding philanthropic, community, or public service.

Legacy award – A leader who has a longstanding record of success in leadership roles, whether in business or through volunteer, philanthropic, or public service positions, and has had a tremendous impact on the San Antonio community.

The chamber will present a $1,000 scholarship to the college or university of the award recipient’s choice in her name. 

Award nominees exemplify business practices and principles that are championed by Ford Motor Co. and the San Antonio Chamber. Nominees must be at least 21 years old and be in compliance with all laws and regulations.

A nomination form is available here. The deadline to submit a nomination is March 29. The honorees will be celebrated June 4 at the Tribute to Women Business Leaders Awards Luncheon.

Avatar photo

Shari Biediger

Shari Biediger is the development beat reporter for the San Antonio Report.