Check out our Election Results page for the results of all the races in Bexar County and the state.

North East Independent School District was able to hold off a conservative takeover of its board with most incumbents keeping their seats.

With all Election Day results counted, Place 1 trustee Sandy Hughey led with 55 percent of the vote. Hughey has had her seat on the NEISD board for 20 years. Her opponent, Mike Osborn, was one of a slate of candidates backed by the conservative San Antonio Family Association for four of the five board seats that were up for election on Tuesday. SAFA-endorsed candidates included Ione McGinty who ran for Place 3, Joseph Hoelscher for Place 4, Cimarron Gilson for Place 5, and Robert “Steve” Hilliard for Place 6. 

In Place 3, incumbent Omar Leos had 66 percent of the vote while McGinty had 34 percent. In Place 4, incumbent David Beyer had 63 percent of the vote while Hoelscher had 37 percent. And in Place 5, incumbent Shannon Grona had 72 percent of the vote while Gilson had 28 percent.

Challenger Hilliard won the Place 6 seat with 48 percent of the vote. Incumbent Tony Jaso trailed with 40 percent. The third candidate, Dylan Pearcy, had 12 percent.

NEISD is one of the largest school districts in Bexar County, with more than 60,000 students enrolled in its campuses.

Two of the three Alamo Colleges District seats had incumbents running, while District 4 incumbent Marcelo Casillas chose not to run for another term. Casillas abstained from a vote in which Alamo Colleges would have pushed the election from May 2020 to May 2021, while incumbents Jose Macias (District 2) and Joe Jesse Sanchez (District 9) voted to lengthen their terms. That decision was ultimately reversed by trustees to place the election on Tuesday’s ballot.

Both District 4 and District 9 Alamo College races were headed for a runoff with no candidates winning a majority of the votes. In District 4, Lorena “Lorraine” Pulido had 34 percent of the vote and will face second-place finisher José “Joe” Gallegos Jr., who had 27 percent of the vote. Robert A. Casias had 21 percent, while current South San ISD board trustee Connie Prado had 17 percent of the vote.

Lawyer Leslie Sachanowicz held the lead in the Alamo Colleges District 9 race with 45 percent of the vote. Incumbent Sanchez trailed him with 34 percent of the vote, while Michael John Good had 21 percent.

Gloria Ray secured the District 2 seat with 57 percent of the vote, beating incumbent Macias.

In Edgewood Independent School District, Richard Santoyo won his election against Ricky Escoto with 66 percent of the vote. Edgewood ISD, located in Southwest Bexar County, had been under the purview of a board of managers, and this was the first election since the district’s transition back to a fully elected board.

South San ISD District 1 trustee Veronica Barba lost to challenger Gina Villagomez by 83 votes. Barba was appointed to her position in 2018 after former Superintendent Alex Flores was pushed out by the board of trustees; the three who opposed his departure resigned in protest. 

The District 2 seat on the South San ISD board was won by Ernesto Arrellano Jr., who had 56 percent of the vote. He and opponent Manuel R. Lopez had applied for an open seat in 2018, but neither was chosen.

Somerset Independent School District, in far South Bexar County, saw incumbent Leo Salas with a successful reelection bid over two challengers, claiming 52 percent of the vote. Somerset is one of the smallest districts in Bexar County, with about 4,000 students total enrolled. It includes part of Atascosa County as well.

In Southwest Independent School District, incumbent Yolanda Garza-Lopez commanded the slate of five candidates with 41 percent of the vote in Bexar County. Pete “Pedro” Bernal had 21 percent in Bexar County. Board President Mike Frazier, who has been on the board for 40 years, held a tenuous third place in the race with 17 percent. The top two vote-getters will fill two at-large positions on the board.

State Board of Education: Lani Popp vs. Rebecca Bell-Metereau

As final election results came in Wednesday morning, the District 5 seat for Texas State Board of Education had flipped to the Democrats, with Rebecca Bell-Metereau narrowly winning her race with Republican Lani Popp.

With all votes counted, Bell-Metereau had received 48.91 percent of the votes to Popp’s 47.19 percent, according to unofficial results on the Texas Secretary of State’s website. Libertarian Stephanie Berlin gained 3.9 percent of the vote. Results become official when canvassed.

In a statement Wednesday, Bell-Metereau said after several unsuccessful tries to turn the District 5 seat blue that she would listen to many Texans as she enters the office.

“I’ve spent over a decade trying to win this seat because I believe in the mission of the board,” she said. “With experience at all levels of education, I value research, the quest for truth, the power of knowledge, and the importance of student success.”

State Board of Education general election races are awarded to the candidate with the most votes regardless of whether that candidate secures more than 50 percent of the vote.

Bell-Metereau began the night with a 52-to-45-point advantage when early voting results were revealed Tuesday night. A few hours later, her lead was narrowed to less than two percentage points.

Popp works as a speech-language pathologist in Northside ISD. Bell-Metereau is a professor at Texas State University in San Marcos.

Held by Republican Ken Mercer for the past 14 years, the historically Republican District 5 seat spans North Bexar east to Travis County and includes several small cities such as Alamo Heights, Castle Hills, and Converse.

Correction: This article has been updated to reflect the correct outcome of the State Board of Education, District 5, race.

Avatar photo

Jackie Wang

Jackie Wang covered local government for the San Antonio Report.

JJ Velasquez

JJ Velasquez

JJ Velasquez was a columnist, former editor and reporter at the San Antonio Report.