More than two dozen architects and design firms were recognized Wednesday night for excellence in the field during the 2017 AIA San Antonio Design Awards.

Awards were previously given to firms for specific projects, according to a news release, but this year the local chapter of the American Institute of Architects also honored three individual members who displayed “professional achievement and community leadership” throughout their careers.

Tiffany Robinson Long, associate partner at Marmon Mok Architecture, received the Rising Star Award; Carolyn Peterson, a partner with Ford Powell & Carson, received the Legacy Award; and Sue Ann Pemberton, chair of UTSA’s Center for Community Engagement and founder of Students Together Achieving Revitalization, received the Community Partner Award.

Three out-of-town, distinguished architects reviewed 60 entries for the awards that were announced during the People + Places Celebration at ZaZa Gardens. Click here to download a full description of the winners and awards.

Below is a list of some of the top winners.

Honor Awards (highest award)

Project Name: Knox College Whitcomb Art Center
Location: Galesburg, Illinois
Architect: Lake|Flato Architects

Project Name: The Robert Irwin Project
Location: Marfa, Texas
Architect: Ford Powell & Carson

Project Name: Paa Haa Ranch
Location: Canyon Lake, Texas
Architect: Lake|Flato Architects

Divine Detail Award

Mission Concepción is lit up to recreate the facade’s original designs during Restored By Light.
Mission Concepción is illuminated to recreate the facade’s original designs during the Restored By Light event. Credit: Bonnie Arbittier / San Antonio Report

Project Name: Restored by Light
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Architect: Ford Powell & Carson

Committee on the Environment Award (COTE)

Project Name: Baylor University Paul L. Foster Campus for Business & Industry
Architect: Overland Partners
Location: Waco, Texas

Mayor’s Choice Award (Ron Nirenberg)

The Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center lights up Market Street. Photo by Kathryn Boyd-Batstone.
The Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Credit: Kathryn Boyd-Batstone / San Antonio Report

Project Name: Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center Expansion
Architect: Marmon Mok Architecture with associated firm Populous
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Twenty-Five Year Award

The Institute of Texan Cultures. Photo by Scott Ball.
University of Texas at San Antonio’s Institute of Texan Cultures Credit: Scott Ball / San Antonio Report

Project Name: Institute of Texan Cultures (ITC), formerly known as the Texas State Pavilion
Architect: Caudill Rowlett Scott (CRS)
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Community Impact Award

Project Name: Mays Family YMCA at Potranco + Public Branch Library
Architect: Marmon Mok Architecture
Location: San Antonio, Texas

Avatar photo

Iris Dimmick

Senior Reporter Iris Dimmick covers public policy pertaining to social issues, ranging from affordable housing and economic disparity to policing reform and workforce development. Contact her at