The 17th annual Centropolitan Awards celebrated the food, innovation, places, events, and people that shape the landscape of downtown San Antonio. The event was held Thursday night inside the Sheraton Gunter Hotel downtown.

Centro San Antonio awarded medals to 14 recipients, including lifetime achievement awards given to Tom Frost of Frost Bank, Jim Hayne of Catto & Catto, and David Straus of Straus-Frank Co. Don Frost, president of Frost Bank San Antonio, presented the awards to the three former CEOs of companies founded in downtown San Antonio.

“They’ve worked together, and more importantly they’ve engaged everyone in San Antonio,” Don Frost said. “The politicians, the religious community, the unions, the business community – everyone seemed to be in sync when Straus, Frost, and Hayne were involved.”

The awards recognized the three men for their achievements, including the investments made to create downtown institutions like the San Antonio River Walk and Hemisfair Park. Jim Cullum, leader of the Jim Cullum Jazz Band, played his cornet as the men accepted their awards to standing ovations.

Councilman Roberto Treviño (D1) presented the anticipated Downtowner of the Year award to Bill Shown, managing director of real estate for the Pearl development company Silver Ventures. Shown stated that it was an honor to be awarded the same night as the three lifetime achievers.

The full list of awards from the evening:

Best Culinary Experience: The restaurants along South Alamo Street.

Best Wild Card: was awarded to the dawning of the light, San Antonio Light Building.

Best Place to Live: 1221 Broadway Lofts.

Best Innovation: Advance Learning Academy and CAST Tech High School.

CENTRO Ambassadors of the Year: Sean Trabucco, Paul Robledo, and Maria Herrera.

CENTRO Ambassador Spirit Award: Marcus Ramirez.

Best Event: Art Pace Chalk It Up.

Best Public Partner: VIA Metropolitan Transit.

Downtowner of the Year: Bill Shown.

YouTube video

Jeffrey Sullivan is a Rivard Report reporter. He graduated from Trinity University with a degree in Political Science.