Sponsored by:

Congratulations to Kara Heasley, PE, LEED AP, for being named the Texas Society of Professional Engineers (TSPE) Bexar Chapter Engineer of the Year for 2018! Not only is Kara the first female to receive the TSPE Bexar Chapter Engineer of the Year award, she is also the youngest engineer to receive this honor. Kara serves as the San Antonio Land Development Department Manager for Jones|Carter, Inc., and we are very proud of her accomplishments.

Kara, a native of San Antonio, has spent her entire career serving the San Antonio community. Upon graduating from Texas A&M University, she built her 18-year career by providing exceptional civil engineering services to both public works and land development projects in the region.

Kara contributed her skills on the project teams for two recent noteworthy projects including the Amazon Distribution Center in San Marcos and the Canyons at Scenic Loop community developed by Southerland Communities.  The Canyons at Scenic Loop development is a master-planned, large-lot residential community in northwest San Antonio. Every home in the development is custom-built and set in a scenic Hill Country setting. To carry out her duties, Kara leads a team of engineers, surveyors, and planners to successfully design and oversee construction of our client’s projects.

Kara Heasley contributed her skills on the project team for the Canyons at Scenic Loop community. Credit: Courtesy / Jones|Carter

In addition to her management role at Jones|Carter, Kara was recently named a new associate of the firm. She has also been instrumental in several internal committees and corporate initiatives, and she provides valuable leadership to our San Antonio office.

Outside of Jones|Carter, Kara has been an active member of local professional and technical organizations. She served as a board member for the San Antonio Branch of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) from 2006-2016, and she currently serves on the executive committee for the Bexar Chapter of Professional Engineers in Public Practice (PEPP). Kara has served on several joint committees with PEPP, the Real Estate Council San Antonio (RECSA), and the American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC) since 2009.

She is serving in her second year as co-chair for ASCE’s statewide CECON Conference, and has also served on the Bexar County Engineer’s Week committee for five of the last nine years. Additionally, Kara has served on the City of Cibolo’s Unified Development Code Committee and Economic Development Corporation. In recognition for her service, Kara received the TSPE Bexar Chapter Young Engineer of the Year award in 2008, and was nominated for Northside ISD’s Pillar of Character Award in 2011.

Kara is a great engineer, a valued member of the Jones|Carter team, and a servant leader for the San Antonio community. Congratulations, Kara, on receiving this well-deserved award!

Avatar photo

Robert L. Aylward

CEO and President of Jones | Carter