Edwards Aquifer Authority logo on a tote bag.
Edwards Aquifer Authority logo on a tote bag. Credit: Bonnie Arbittier / San Antonio Report

Two-thirds of the voting members of the San Antonio-based authority that manages the region’s most vital water source are up for election in November.

Candidate filing begins Monday for 10 seats on the Edwards Aquifer Authority’s (EAA) board, which includes 15 voting members.

The authority manages groundwater pumping permits and other duties related to the Edwards Aquifer, a vast limestone rock layer that holds the largest source of drinking water in the San Antonio region.

Its jurisdiction somewhat matches the aquifer’s boundaries and includes all of Uvalde, Medina and Bexar counties, and parts of Atascosa, Caldwell, Comal, Guadalupe, and Hays counties.

Its two non-voting members represent the South-Central Texas Water Advisory Committee and the commissioners courts of Uvalde and Medina counties, on a rotating basis.

A federal judge recently upheld the EAA’s board structure and voter representation in a civil rights case that could have affected the balance of power between Bexar County and neighboring counties.

The districts up for reelection are:

District 1 – Bexar County
District 3 – Bexar County
District 5 – Bexar County
District 6 – Bexar County
District 7 – Bexar County
District 8 – Comal County
District 9 – Parts of Comal and Guadalupe counties
District 11 – Parts of Caldwell and Hays counties
District 13 – Parts of Atascosa and Medina counties
District 15 – Uvalde County

Voting districts for the Edwards Aquifer Authority's board of directors.
Voting districts for the Edwards Aquifer Authority’s board of directors. Credit: Courtesy / Edwards Aquifer Authority

View an interactive map of EAA districts here.

The terms for all odd-numbered districts will be four years, expiring Dec. 1, 2022. Districts 6 and 8 are included among the odd-numbered districts because of past board members’ resignations.

Their terms will be two years, expiring Dec. 1, 2020. That year, all other even-numbered districts will also be up for reelection.

All board members elected in November will take office after Dec. 1 of this year.

Prospective candidates must file with the EAA at its 900 E. Quincy St. offices by 5 p.m. on Aug. 20 to be added to the Nov. 6 ballot.

Brendan Gibbons is a former senior reporter at the San Antonio Report. He is an environmental journalist for Oil & Gas Watch.