A San Antonio physician has been selected by U.S. President Joe Biden to serve on a committee to help evaluate nominees for the nation’s highest scientific honors.

Dr. Erika Gonzalez was appointed March 25 to serve as a member of the Committee on the National Medal of Science. According to the National Science Foundation, only distinguished scientists and engineers are included among the appointees.

Gonzalez said she was “humbled and honored” for the appointment. 

“It is through the recognition of our scientists that we are able to honor all of the advances that have been made in science, especially in light of the (COVID-19) pandemic,” Gonzalez said. “I am thankful for this opportunity and look forward to the work ahead.”

Gonzalez is president and CEO of the South Texas Allergy and Asthma Medical Professionals and the centers’ clinical research center, which she founded in 2015. Gonzalez also serves as co-chair of Small Business for America’s Future, a national coalition of business owners who work to ensure small businesses have a voice in government.

“In addition to her remarkable professional accomplishments, Dr. Gonzalez is a passionate and inspiring advocate for improving access to quality healthcare and strengthening small businesses,” said Rhett Buttle, a senior adviser at Small Business for America’s Future. Buttle called her recognition “well-deserved” and said Gonzalez will be a strong asset to the committee.

She also serves on the board of the Latino Victory Project, a national committee to empower Latino voters, as well as serving as chairwoman of the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and chairing the San Antonio Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women. 

Recently, Gonzalez founded Con Corazón, a nonprofit organization to address health disparities in underserved communities in Bexar County. Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, the group worked with STAAMP to administer 15,000 vaccines to adults and children and tests to 20,000 patients, according to a news release on the appointment.

The National Medal of Science has been awarded to 506 scientists or engineers since 1962, with the most recent one being awarded in 2014. The NSF is seeking nominations for the National Medal of Science through May 20.

Dr. Erika Gonzalez is a member of the San Antonio Report’s Board of Directors. For a full list of board members, click here.

Avatar photo

Raquel Torres

Raquel Torres is the San Antonio Report's breaking news reporter. She previously worked at the Tyler Morning Telegraph and is a 2020 graduate of Stephen F. Austin State University.