Early voting begins June 29 for the July 14 primary runoff. Credit: Bonnie Arbittier / San Antonio Report

As the coronavirus pandemic continues, things like registering to vote may have fallen to the back of your to-do list. However, Monday, June, 15, is the deadline to register to vote in the July runoff election.

The runoffs, originally scheduled for May, were postponed because of the pandemic, and Gov. Greg Abbott extended the early voting period. Starting June 29, voters in Texas can cast early ballots for the July 14 election.

How can I determine if I’m registered to vote?

You can check your voter registration status here. All you need is your Voter ID number or Texas Driver’s License number, your name, county of residence, and date of birth.

How can I register to vote?

Voter registration ends Monday. The Bexar County Elections Department can get you registered, and the office is open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

You can also register at libraries or through a volunteer deputy registrar.

When can I vote?

Early voting starts Tuesday, June 29, and ends Friday, July 10. Hours for early voting vary, and you can find details here. Election Day is Tuesday, July 15. 

What do I need to bring with me to vote?

You need to provide one of the following seven forms of identification:

  • Texas Driver License issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
  • Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS
  • Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS
  • Texas Handgun License issued by DPS
  • United States Military Identification Card containing your photograph
  • United States Citizenship Certificate containing your photograph
  • United States Passport (book or card)

If you don’t have one of the seven forms of identification listed above and can’t reasonably get one, you can also bring one of these:

  • A copy or original of a government document that shows your name and an address, including your voter registration certificate;
  • A copy of or original current utility bill;
  • A copy of or original bank statement;
  • A copy of or original government check;
  • A copy of or original paycheck; or
  • A copy of or original of (a) a certified domestic (from a U.S. state or territory) birth certificate or (b) a document confirming birth admissible in a court of law which establishes your identity, which may include a foreign birth document.

If your name for some reason does not appear on the list of registered voters but you did register to vote in time, you can also cast a provisional ballot.

Where can I vote?

During early voting, there are 31 early voting sites, including the Bexar County Elections Department. Find early voting locations and hours here. Voters are no longer confined to specific precincts on election day, and can vote at any Bexar County polling location on July 15.

What about absentee ballots?

You can vote by mail if you are:

  • Going to be away from your county on election day and during early voting
  • Sick or disabled
  • 65 years of age or older on election day
  • Confined in jail, but eligible to vote

The Texas Supreme Court determined in May that not having immunity to the novel coronavirus is not a “disability” does not qualify a voter to cast a ballot by mail. But the court also said that voters can consider their own health and health history to decide whether or not to apply to vote by mail due to disability.

You can request an application for an absentee ballot from the elections department, or print one out here. Applications for absentee ballots must be received by the elections department 11 days before election day, which is July 15. And for your vote to count, it must be received by 7 p.m. on Tuesday, July 15.

What’s on the ballot?

You must vote in the same party primary in which you voted in March, but you may vote in the runoff even if you didn’t cast a ballot in March. Depending on your address, you may vote for a United States representative, state board of education member, or county commissioner in the Republican runoff. Democratic runoff voters may see a state senator, county commissioner, constable, or precinct chair race. Royce West and MJ Hegar are vying for the Democratic nomination for the U.S. Senate race against Republican incumbent John Cornyn, while Democrats Chrysta Castañeda and Roberto R. “Beto” Alonzo are facing off for the railroad commissioner nomination. Both Republican and Democratic voters will see county political party chair candidates on their ballots.

Have more questions?

Check out VoteTexas.gov. Or ask us, and we’ll find an answer for you.

Avatar photo

Jackie Wang

Jackie Wang covered local government for the San Antonio Report.