Starting Monday, some San Antonians can return to the polls.

Yes, San Antonio did just have an election in May. But even though residents in all 10 City Council districts had the chance to vote for their next representative, five City Council districts remain undecided.

On June 5, residents in districts 1, 2, 3, 5, and 9 can go back to the polls to choose who will represent them for the next two years. While runoffs in Districts and 5 were expected without incumbents running, the other three all have Council members fending off challengers.

As long as you’re registered to vote and live in districts 1, 2, 3, 5, or 9, you can vote in the runoff. If you didn’t vote in May, that doesn’t change your eligibility. Read on for more information on how to vote early.

How can I determine if I’m registered to vote?

You can check your voter registration status here. All you need is your Voter ID number or Texas driver’s license number, your name, county of residence, and date of birth.

When can I vote?

Early voting in the runoffs starts Monday, May 24, and ends Tuesday, June 1. Polls are closed on May 30 and May 31. Election day is Saturday, June 5, and polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Find early voting hours here.

Where can I vote?

There are 18 early voting locations throughout Bexar County, including the Bexar County Elections Department. Voters can cast ballots at any of them. Find the full list here.

Can I cast an absentee ballot?

You can vote by mail if you are:

  • Going to be away from your county on election day and during early voting
  • Sick or disabled
  • 65 years of age or older on election day
  • Confined in jail but eligible to vote

The Texas Supreme Court determined last May that not having immunity to the novel coronavirus is not a “disability” and does not qualify a voter to cast a ballot by mail. But the court also said that voters can consider their own health and health history to decide whether to apply to vote by mail due to disability.

You can request an application for an absentee ballot from the elections department, or print one out here. Applications for absentee ballots must be received by the elections department on May 25, 11 days before election day. And for your vote to count, it must be received by 7 p.m. on June 5.

What do I need to bring with me to vote?

You need to provide one of the following seven forms of identification:

  • Texas driver’s license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
  • Texas election identification certificate issued by DPS
  • Texas personal identification card issued by DPS
  • Texas handgun license issued by DPS
  • U.S. military identification card containing your photograph
  • U.S. citizenship certificate containing your photograph
  • U.S. passport (book or card)

If you don’t have one of the seven forms of identification listed above and can’t reasonably get one, you can bring one of these:

  • A copy or original of a government document that shows your name and an address, including your voter registration certificate
  • A copy of or original current utility bill
  • A copy of or original bank statement
  • A copy of or original government check
  • A copy of or original paycheck
  • A copy of or original of (A) a certified domestic (from a U.S. state or territory) birth certificate or (B) a document confirming birth admissible in a court of law that establishes your identity, which may include a foreign birth document.

If your name for some reason does not appear on the list of registered voters but you did register to vote in time, you can cast a provisional ballot.

What’s on the ballot?

Only San Antonio voters who reside in council districts with runoff races will be eligible to vote.

In District 1, voters will decide between Councilman Roberto Treviño, who is seeking his fourth and final term, and challenger Mario Bravo, a project manager for the Environmental Defense Fund.

In District 2, Councilwoman Jada Andrews-Sullivan will face her former communications director Jalen McKee-Rodriguez as she seeks reelection. Andrews-Sullivan has served one term.

In District 3, as Councilwoman Rebecca Viagran prepares to depart due to term limits, her sister Phyllis Viagran is running against Tomas Uresti, the brother of former state Sen. Carlos Uresti and current Bexar County tax assessor-collector Albert Uresti.

In District 5, where Councilwoman Shirley Gonzales has served the maximum number of terms, teacher and urban policy historian Teri Castillo will face Thompson Neighborhood Association President Rudy Lopez.

And in District 9, Councilman John Courage is taking on challenger Patrick Von Dohlen, who has now run for the seat three times. Courage is seeking his third term.

Have more questions?

Check out Or ask us in the comments, and we’ll find an answer for you.

Avatar photo

Jackie Wang

Jackie Wang covered local government for the San Antonio Report.