San Antonio City Council will choose from more than a dozen applicants with a wide-range of political views this week when they appoint a replacement for District 10 Councilman Clayton Perry.

Perry is taking a leave of absence to seek treatment after being involved in a car crash and allegedly fleeing from the scene last month.

The application process to represent District 10 in Perry’s place closed at 5 p.m. Monday.

An agenda for Wednesday’s City Council meeting showed 18 applicants, three of whom council members will select to interview. The interviews and selection were set to be conducted at Thursday’s City Council meeting.

Among the applicants are Northeast Neighborhood Alliance President Mike Gallagher, who previously represented District 10 on City Council, and energy attorney Ezra Johnson, who ran unsuccessfully against Perry in 2021 and 2017.

William Peche served as a Republican precinct chair and sought the GOP’s nomination to represent Precinct 3 on the Bexar County Commissioners Court earlier this year.

Other candidates include: Charles Daniels, Gracie Farias, Joe F. Garcia, Lisa Garcia, Donald J. Hartshorn, Elise L. Kibler, Laurence Kurth, Christopher Longoria, Bryan Martin, Pauline A. Rubio, Christopher W. Sanchez, Andrew Shelnutt, Joel G. Solis, Timothy P. Taylor and Laura Thompson.

“We need some new leadership in District 10,” Martin said in an interview outside City Hall on Monday. “There are some more progressive issues that need to be tackled. … There’s not enough seriousness when it comes to issues like climate change or transportation alternatives.”

City Council seats are nonpartisan, but District 10 is the only district to reliably send conservative voices to the dais. Though the Council is dominated by progressives, some council members believe the replacement should reflect that dynamic.

“To the residents of District 10 … you all still deserve someone to cast a vote,” said Councilwoman Adriana Rocha Garcia (D4) said earlier this month. “You need someone on this dais that might not always agree with all of us … that will speak their mind and that represents your values.”

Martin, a new District 10 homeowner who serves as vice president of a bicycling advocacy group, disagreed.

“I think the district is changing and I think me and my family are representative of that,” he said.

District 10 supported Democratic gubernatorial candidate Beto O’Rourke with 53.6% of the vote in the November midterm election, compared to 46.4% for Gov. Greg Abbott, according to data provided by the progressive political firm Flagship Campaigns.

It’s unclear how long the appointed candidate will serve in Perry’s place.

According to the city’s charter, Perry can return to his council seat whenever he chooses. He faces an arraignment hearing related to the car crash on Dec. 12.

This article has been updated to correctly reflect the election years in which Ezra Johnson sought the District 10 City Council seat.

Avatar photo

Andrea Drusch

Andrea Drusch writes about local government for the San Antonio Report. She's covered politics in Washington, D.C., and Texas for the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, National Journal and Politico.