After a short hiatus Something Monday, our casual, social bike ride in partnership with San Antonio B-cycle is back with a tour of the Commander’s House off of South Main Avenue.
Gloria De La Cruz-Sandoval and Travis Davey of San Antonio Parks and Recreation, will explain the history of the Commander’s House and some of the activities it hosts – currently and in the future – to attract the younger crowd in the downtown San Antonio area.
The historic grounds have received an increased amount of attention in recent weeks as it sits on the portion of S. Main Avenue that H-E-B has requested to close as part of its headquarter’s master plan.
[Read More: “King William Association Votes to Support Street Closure.”]
In 1858, the U.S. Army chose San Antonio for a permanent arsenal. They soon purchased land along the San Antonio River where they would store gunpowder and weapons. The Commander’s House was the primary residence of the arsenal’s highest ranking officer.
The Commander’s House has been occupied by the US Army, Confederate Army, and now by the City of San Antonio. It currently serves as a popular senior’s center, but the changing demographics of downtown has sparked another transition to attract a younger audience.
We will depart from the Blue Star Arts complex B-Cycle station located a 1414 S. Alamo St. at 6 p.m. and ride through the King William Historic District to the Commander’s House – across S. Main Avenue from H-E-B’s Headquarters. The weather should be nice with temperatures in the mid to upper 70s, great for riding.
The sun will start setting a little before 6 p.m., so be sure to bring bike lights to comply with local ordinance. All ages and experience levels are welcome. Afterwards, we’ll cruise back into the King William Historic District for some brews and food at The Friendly Spot.